~The day my life changed~

What was the one experience that completely changed your life? What happened? How did it change your life?

On September 22, 2007 at about 8:28 PM everything changed for me. I went from careless and carefree to careful and cautious.

My boyfriend and I had attended a party, well a pig roast actually for a large portion of the day. We decided we were going to go to another party so we left.

We had been drinking, and he was speeding. Going 70 mph in a 35 mph zone. I told him to slow down over and over, that if he didn’t he was going to kill me.

He didn’t slow down.

We saw a four wheeler crossing the road and didn’t have time to slow down before he hit the kid on the wheeler and then we hit a large tree head on. 

All the damage was front passenger side on the truck we were in and I was pinned. I could feel the cold air on my foot because it was through the floor board of the truck. 

There were flames coming from under the hood. I couldn’t help but think, “This is it! I’m dead!!!”

Out of nowhere a man came with a fire extinguisher and put the fire out. The ambulance and fire department showed up and after about 2 hours they cut me out of the truck.

I was flown to Dartmouth Medical Center in Lebanon NH. 

During my stay there I had 12 surgeries. I had a broken foot, broken ankle, my femur had broke and was sticking out the side of my leg, my hip was shattered, my pelvis was broke in three places and my tailbone was broke.

I had a pulmonary embolism and almost died in the hospital. 

That was 5 years ago and today I still suffer in excruciating pain everyday.

But I learned quite a lesson that night. 

I am grateful to be alive. I DO NOT take anything for granted anymore. I try so hard to live everyday to the fullest because you never know when today will be your last.

Comments & Questions Are Welcome & Will Be Responded To As Quickly As Possible :)

