~A Dreary Day!

Live Inspired Journal

Live Inspired Journal (Photo credit: Cassandra Kinaviaq Rae)

 

English: One example of a freelance writer aut...

English: One example of a freelance writer authoring directly to the Web. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I am sitting here at my computer, my only real friend, lol looking out the window and the sky is so gray, and the rain drizzles down the window. 

 

I have been reading blogs by others like opinionatedman and Carol Tice’s blog called “Make a Living Writing”, both of which I highly recommend to anyone that writes for a hobby or even for a career. I find many tips in these blogs that are very important to anyone, but especially to those of us that are trying to make a-go at a freelance writing career. 

 

I do not write my personal blog with SEO in mind. I write just to inform others about whatever I come across of interest, or even what is going on in my daily life. I want the readers to know me, my followers to become engaged.

 

I think it is very important that you reply to all comments from those that take the time to read your posts. How else can you gain loyal followers, some who may promote your page for you and even some who may hire you to write for them. 

 

I try to write in a way that is conversational and interesting, and although I am sure I do not always accomplish that, I really do try. 

 

I would like to take this time to ask what it is my followers are interested in? Are you a freelancer yourself? Do you blog for fun? Is there anything you would be interested in reading about? And a biggie,..Do you have any personal tips for others that could help them with their blog?

 

I personally blog for both fun and to get my name out there as a freelancer. Some of my posts may be personal, about my family and my daily life. Others may be more business minded and ‘boring’ but I just love to write and if I can’t think of anything to write I go to other pages on here and find something to read and just write comments. I would recommend that you do this too, and follow other blogs.

 

If you take the time to comment on others posts then there is a good chance that at least a third of them will do the same for you.

 

Thank you for taking the time to come to my blog and read my posts, and even comment. I appreciate every one of you!

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “~A Dreary Day!

  1. Love this post! This type of thinking is the embodiment of one of the characteristics of what makes a blog great, the ability to make a blog interactive and thought provoking! I consider myself a freelance blogger, mainly writing about my struggles with life, addiction, and spirituality and the benefits of what it means for life and spirituality to no longer be separated by addiction. To live life spiritually, whatever that may be for each individual.

    I think an element of a good blog is variety in subject matter. That way if you cannot come up with a good idea one one topic one day, you will have others to fall back on. One very important thing to also remember is that everything you write isn’t going to be a gem, so quit thinking so hard trying to make them so! The best followers realize this and are content to wait for that gem, because they realize that when it comes that it will be truly thought provoking in a way that speaks to their souls. In the meantime, they will still have a variety of worthy writings to read. Interaction between the people who follow your blog and vice versa is also essential, I am currently looking for people to help contribute on my own blog.

    Like

    • Dustin,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to put such a lengthy and HONEST response to my post. There are days that I can’t think of what to write, so I started this blog so that people can get to know ‘the real’ me. They can learn that I am human and I am not perfect either. I am a freelance writer, but I also have a life outside of my ‘internet image’.

      The reason that I want to involve my followers and readers is honestly just because I enjoy getting to know people and their interests. I also make sure to check out every blog I can, and definitely every website or blog from those that follow mine or comment on mine.

      I was going to just make another blog doing nothing except promoting myself and then I realized that people would rather read about me, whether it be sad or happy, as long as it is honest! I make a promise to myself and others that decide to comment and follow my blog that I WILL ALWAYS COMMENT AND FOLLOW BACK!!

      I respect everyone I have come across, and I have to say I respect you for writing honestly about over coming an addiction. There are so many people out there that hide it like its a plague. Addiction is a disease!! Kudos to you!!!

      Please come back anytime!

      Also I followed your blog do go ahead and start posting! I think that you can have an amazing place for others to go to that they can read and relate. 😉

      Like

  2. Hello! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the superb work!

    Like

  3. 28830 666517In todays news reporting clever journalists function their very own slant into a story. Bloggers use it promote their works and a lot of just use it for enjoyable or to stay in touch with pals far away. 715192

    Like

  4. I think you definitely have the right attitude. You do come across as conversational and personable, someone I’d want to read regularly.

    To answer your questions, I’m a freelancer and I blog to connect with readers, writers, and other freelancers. There are many great resources out there to help you get off on the right foot with your blog and/or freelance writing career (looks like you’ve already found Carol Tice – you’ll want to read just about everything she has to say). Let me know if you’d like help finding those resources.

    Thanks for including The Daily Word under “related articles.” I hope you find it useful!

    Like

  5. Pingback: URL

  6. Pingback: This press release

  7. Pingback: www.rapidmoldremoval.com

Comments & Questions Are Welcome & Will Be Responded To As Quickly As Possible :)

