ELF Delivery: Winter Clothes 4 KIDS!

ELF Delivery: Winter Clothes 4 KIDS!

Living in a small town has its downfalls and resources to help those in need are limited. My ten year old daughter, Arianna, came home from her bible study last week and asked me of a way we could help others, since we have asked for help in the past I felt this would be a great way to give back.

I have been looking around me and notice some children wearing jackets that are a little to small, or ski pants with tears in the knees, boots that have obviously been handed down and it saddens me. 

My daughter and I are hoping that people with donate out of the kindness of their hearts, that they will think back to a time when they needed a helping hand, when someone gave them $5 for gas or a jacket that was collecting dust in their closet.

I know that times are difficult for everyone right now but every donation adds up, every share posted allows someone else to donate or share. 

I know our town does a coat/jacket drive that supplies some with used/gently used winter clothing and although they try their hardest they are not able to help everyone that needs it, not even close:(
So Arianna and I thought what would be better then to be able to earn enough money that we could have the school pick names of children/families in need and be able to give them brand new winter clothing.
(Also people in need can also contact me privately as I know there are some that have children too young to attend school)

What we are hoping to do is raise enough money that instead of doing the actual shopping for the items we would be able to give each child/family a gift card in the amount needed to purchase their own items. I know my children would rather pick out their own things:) so I can only assume that other children would love to be able to shop for themselves also.

I was looking at Walmart.com and was thinking that $60 per child would be a reasonable amount for a gift card. Although walmart is not the only place with amazing deals online, there is also Nomorerack.com, justice.com and brothers.com (sizes 6-12 kids) that offer from 10% to 80% off retail price. Also $60 is not a set amount, the amount that is needed will be based on the families needs and the money raised and the amount of families that need assistance.

We plan on using Walmart gift cards for those who wish to shop at walmart but for those who wish to shop elsewhere thats fine we would just purchase a gift card at the store of choice.

This will be one of the questions asked of those in need. Where will they be shopping? So that we can get a gift card to the appropriate store.

We plan on working side by side with the schools in the area on this and I am hoping that even though today is already December 3rd we will be able to get enough donations to start doing something right away. 

I have spoke with the head nurse at Hardwick Elementary School who coordinates these types of things and she is willing to work with me on this in the aspect of finding families in need for the donations to go to.

(FYI: All families names will be kept confidential and I won’t even have access to them, so do not be afraid to speak up if your in need!!) 

She did mention a couple places for people to go to or donate to if the would like besides donating here:
*The Giving Closet in Greensboro Vt, they accept used items, everything from clothing to household supplies, all items must be in excellent condition and are completely FREE! 
*Also the Kiwanis Club in Hardwick is another place for people to go if they need help with anything for their children, such as new glasses, clothing etc..they only accept monetary donations and they can be contacted by calling Bear Basset @ 802-472-5501. 

I can be contacted through this campaign and by email @ margodjohnson@gmail.com (Subject: Winter Clothes)

I really hope that we are able to raise enough money to help others, this is something that is important to me but even more important to my beautiful daughter, Arianna:)

Please feel free to email me with any questions and concerns you may have. 

***Also for those that would rather donate the actual items instead of cash you can mail/ship the items to:
ELF Delivery: Winter Clothes 4 Children! c/o Margo Johnson
42 Carey Road
Hardwick, Vt 05843

Please if you send clothing donations make sure they are in excellent to brand new condition and all sizes are welcome!

(If this is a success I will not ever pull down this campaign and every year at this time we will be able to help children and families that need it.)

To read more or to make a donation please visit our page @ ELF Delivery: Winter Clothes 4 KIDS!

3 thoughts on “ELF Delivery: Winter Clothes 4 KIDS!

    • Thanks a lot:) this is only one of my two blogs. Unfortunately I dont blog as often as I should:( Running a blog is easy really. And I thank you very much for the compliment about the content because I write ALL of my own content and I believe that is what makes a Blog good, or even great and worthy of reading:) You made me smile:) Thank you!

      Like

  1. Reblogged this on Stay at Home Mom Tells All and commented:

    Last year on December 4th 2013, my daughter and I wanted to raise money for the school for children and families that have limited funds. Many families are barely able to heat their homes this time of year and although winter clothing isn’t as expensive as heat, having help purchasing these items can be a God send to many families. Unfortunately we started this campaign a little too late last year and we only raised $10.00,..this was only able to help one child get a hat and pair of gloves.
    I spoke with Arianna, who is now 11; and she decided she wanted to give this a go again this year. So here we are updating this post, re-blogging it and sharing it in hopes that people are willing to reach out and help others. This is the time of year to give and be selfless. So we would really appreciate it if everyone could at the very least take a moment and hit share on this post. If your able to donate then please do so by following the directions below.
    We were talking and if its possible to raise enough we would be willing to help children in the schools in the towns surrounding ours.
    Every dollar counts! Every donation, whether actual items needed or monetary donations are appreciated and will go towards helping a child or family who otherwise could not afford these items.
    **Remember hat’s, glove’s, ski pants & boots are not a luxury item,..we live in Vermont and these items are necessities.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to reach out and help!

    I can be contacted through this campaign and by email @ margodjohnson@gmail.com (Subject: Winter Clothes)

    I really hope that we are able to raise enough money to help others, this is something that is important to me but even more important to my beautiful daughter, Arianna:)

    Please feel free to email me with any questions and concerns you may have.
    To read more or to make a donation please visit our page @ ELF Delivery: Winter Clothes 4 KIDS! http://www.gofundme.com/ELFDelivery
    ***Also for those that would rather donate the actual items instead of cash you can mail/ship the items to:
    ELF Delivery: Winter Clothes 4 Children!
    c/o Margo Johnson
    42 Carey Road
    Hardwick, Vt 05843
    (802) 473-2521
    Please if you send clothing donations make sure they are in excellent to brand new condition and all sizes are welcome!
    (If this is a success I will not ever pull down this campaign and every year at this time we will be able to help children and families that need it.)
    **ALSO READ ORIGINAL POST FOR OTHER PLACES TO DONATE AND RECEIVE HELP!!**

    Like

Comments & Questions Are Welcome & Will Be Responded To As Quickly As Possible :)

